Friday, June 6, 2008

Rock the Net: Musicians for Net Neutrality CD!

Rock the Net

We just sent a quick w-mail update to members of our Rock the Net campaign, letting them know about the upcoming RTN benefit CD that comes out on Thirsty Ear Recordings on July 29. We figured we should share the news with you blog readers, too. (And if you haven't already, you should visit the Rock the Net site and sign yourself up!)

Rock the Net: Musicians for Net Neutrality features Wilco, Aimee Mann, Bright Eyes, Palomar, They Might Be Giants, Portastatic, Vernon Reid’s Free Form Funky Freqs DJ Spooky, Guster, BC Camplight, The Classic Brown, David Bazan (aka Pedro the Lion), Matthew Shipp and David Miller. We finally got to hear the album in sequence and can tell you that it’s awesome! (Not that we’re biased, or anything).

Here's a Pitchfork news item about the release. And a CMJ article.

Now it's your turn to make your voice heard. If you're a musician or part of an independent label, send a short blurb to FMC Communications Director Casey-Rae Hunter ( describing what the open internet means to you. We'll be collecting your testimonials and will post them on the Rock the Net site.

And stay tuned for more info about this exciting release!

No comments: